Board Members

Management Board

Oliver Väärtnõu

Chairman of the Management Board

Oliver Väärtnõu joined Cybernetica as the Chairman of the Management Board in 2014, having previously served as the Strategy Director of the Government Office of the Republic of Estonia and as the CEO of ELIKO Technology Competence Centre. He has also worked in Sweden and Denmark, focusing on international relations and management consulting. Currently, Mr Väärtnõu is the Member of the Research and Development Council to the Prime Minister of Estonia, Member of the Board at the Estonian Chamber of Commerce and Industry and Member of the Supervisory Board at Smartmatic-Cybernetica Centre of Excellence for Internet Voting. He has a MSc in Technology Governance from the University of Sussex.

Dan Bogdanov

Member of the Management Board

Dan Bogdanov completed his Master’s studies in secure computation at the University of Tartu in 2007. In 2013, he earned a PhD degree in computer science from the University of Tartu. Dan is the architect and lead developer of the Sharemind secure computation platform and has authored several papers on information security. Dan’s research has received several awards: Expo Science Europe Grand Prix 2002, Ustus Agur stipend 2010, JCI Top Outstanding Young Person 2013, Estonian Ministry of Defence research award 2014, President of Estonia Young IT Scientist Award 2016. Dan has worked at Cybernetica since 2007 as a researcher and since 2021 as the Head of the Information Security Institute. Dan is an expert representative of Estonia at the information security techniques standardization committee ISO/IEC SC 27 where he fulfils the editorial duties for several standards. Dan Bogdanov is a recipient of the Ustus Agur scholarship from the Estonian Association of Information Technology and Telecommunications (2010) and he was bestowed the Order of The White Star Fourth Class (2015).

Supervisory Board

Ülo Jaaksoo

Chairman of the Supervisory Board

Ülo Jaaksoo is a Chairman of Supervisory Board since 2013. Ülo Jaaksoo, Member of the Estonian Academy of Sciences (1986). In 1989-1997 Ülo Jaaksoo was a Director of the Institute of Cybernetics of the Estonian Academy of Sciences. In 1997-2013 Ülo Jaaksoo was CEO of Cybernetica. Ülo Jaaksoo has been Vice President of the Estonian Academy of Sciences, Chairman of the Council of Estonian Telekom, Member of the Estonian Research and Development Council, representative of Estonia in NATO Science Committee, Member of The President’s Academic Council. At the moment Ülo Jaaksoo is a member of the Innovation Policy Commission of the Estonian Research and Development Council, member of the Board of Governors of the Tallinn University of Technology. Acknowledgements: Estonian Prize (1967), Award of the Estonian Ministry Council (1986), the Medal of the Estonian Academy of Sciences (1999), 3rd Class Order of the White Star (2004).

Arne Ansper

Member of the Supervisory Board

Arne Ansper earned his MSc in Computer Engineering from Tallinn Technical University in 2001. He is a consummate professional with extensive experience in software development which includes designing and building security-critical distributed systems since 1995 and government information systems since 2001. Arne has managed the development of the “Barricade” firewall, “SSA” remote access software, and information system used by the Estonian State Registry of Certification. In addition, he designed the architecture and lead the development of the “Privador” VPN appliance, the Estonian e-voting system and Customs Engine CuE. One of his greatest accomplishments, Arne designed the architecture and managed the development of X-Road – a secure communication layer to connect Estonian governmental registries. The founding principles of X-Road were first described in his MSc thesis and later refined and implemented in X-Road, which is by far considered the most successful e-Government project in Estonia. Furthermore, Arne contributed to the research and development of time-stamping technology. Arne Ansper was bestowed the Order of The White Star Fifth Class (2013).

Margus Freudenthal

Member of the Supervisory Board

Margus Freudenthal received BSc resp. MSc in computer science from Tallinn University of Technology in 1999 resp. 2001, and PhD in computer science from UT in 2013. He has been a senior software architect in Cybernetica for many years. He has been the designer and lead implementer of the X-Road system for interconnecting the information systems of all Estonian government departments. This system constitutes the backbone of Estonia’s e-governance infrastructure, and is currently being deployed in other countries. He has also been the designer of Cybernetica’s Customs Engine software suite. This suite, supporting all complex business processes of a customs agency, is currently in use at Estonian Tax and Customs Board. Based on his software development experience, he has researched the use of domain-specific languages in large software projects. He has developed Simpl, a tool for quickly and efficiently implementing domain-specific languages in enterprise information systems.